Unilever Award




Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry

American Chemical Society






Outstanding Young Investigator in Colloid & Surfactant Science


$3,000 PRIZE


Purpose:  To recognize and encourage fundamental work in colloid or surfactant science carried out in North America by researchers in the early stages of their careers.


Nature: The award consists of $3,000 and a plaque.  In addition, up to $1000 will be provided towards travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented.  The winner is expected to deliver a lecture.


Establishment and Support:  The award was established in 2003 by the Unilever Corporation.


Rules of Eligibility:  Nominees who are within seven (7) years of receiving their Ph.D. will be eligible for the Award.   Special consideration is given to the originality and creativity of the work and to its potential impact.  The research must have been carried out in North America.


Nomination: Nomination may be made by a colleague or anyone familiar with the nominee's work.  The nomination packet should be sent electronically by email, preferably in a single PDF file, containing the nomination letter, three letters of support from others in addition to the nomination letter, the nominee's curriculum vita with a complete list of publications, and reprints of up to five papers, which demonstrate the nominee's excellence in publication of his or her research work. The nomination letter should contain a carefully edited 25-word citation, which reflects the nominee's specific achievements.  Previous years' nominations will be automatically renewed up to the cut off date for eligibility, but you are encouraged to submit relevant updated material.


Criteria:  The judges will consider originality, quality, and significance of the work and its potential impact on current and future research as well as on industrial and commercial applications.

Committee:  Chair:  Prof. P. Somasundaran Columbia Univ.; ps24@columbia.edu
Dr. K.P. Ananthapadmanabhan, Unilever; kp.ananth@unilever.com
Dr. Ray Farinato, Cytec; raymond.farinato@cytec.com
Prof. Nicholas L. Abbott, Univ. Wisconsin; abbott@engr.wisc.edu
Prof. Julian Eastoe, Univ. Bristol; julian.eastoe@bristol.ac.uk
Dr. Patricia Aikens, BASF; patricia.aikens@basf.com

Deadline:  The submission deadline is typically February 1st of each year.  Information will be posted on the News section of this web site.


Past Award Winners:


Christine Keating

Department of Chemistry

Pennsylvania State University


Yunfeng Lu

Department of Chemical Engineering

Tulane University


Bartosz A. Grzybowski

Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering

Northwestern University


Michael Strano

Bioengineering Department

University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana


David S. Ginger

Department of Chemistry

University of Washington


Ali Khademhosseini

Department of Health Sciences and Technology

Harvard University  


Ryan Hayward

Polymer Science and Engineering

University of Massachusetts Amherst

2012 Liangfang Zhang Department of Nanoengineering University of California, San Diego

2013 Prashant K. Jain Department of Chemistry

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2014 Daeyon Lee
Department of Chemical Engineering & Biolomolecular Engineering

University of Pennsylvania

2015 Jill Millstone
Department of Chemistry University of Pittsburgh