Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry American Chemical Society

Victor K. LaMer Award

for graduate research in colloid and surface chemistry

\$3,000 PRIZE

The Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry of the American Chemical Society invites nominations for the Victor K. LaMer Award for Graduate Research in Colloid and Surface Chemistry. The Award prize is \$3,000 and a certificate. The 55th of these annual awards is to be presented at the 98th ACS Colloid and Surface Science Symposium to be held from June 23-26, 2024 at the University of Washington.

ELIGIBILITY:

The award is for an outstanding Ph.D. thesis accepted by a US or Canadian university during the three-year period September 1, 2020 to August 31, 2023. The nomination process is electronic, and previous years' nominations must be resubmitted.

NOMINATION:

A nomination may be made by the thesis advisor or anyone familiar with the nominee's work. The following items must be emailed as four separate PDF files or a single file to Kyle Bishop: 1) the nomination letter, 2) the PhD thesis, 3) a supporting letter from an additional person, and 4) a curriculum vitae of the nominee. The nomination material must be received by January 15, 2024.

CRITERIA:

- The judges will consider originality, significance, quality, and other criteria normally accepted in evaluation of scientific work.
- 2. Special attention will be paid to the contribution of the student as distinct from the contribution of the advisor. The nomination should clearly differentiate the two efforts.
- 3. The potential and promise of the student as a future investigator will be considered.

 Therefore, achievement by the student prior to and after completion of the thesis may be discussed. PDFs of papers published after the thesis will be helpful.

Please **email** nomination materials as PDF files to:

Prof. Kyle Bishop

Department of Chemical Engineering Columbia University New York, NY 10027 Phone: 212-854-7260

Email: kyle.bishop@columbia.edu

DEADLINE: The nomination material must be received by January 15, 2024.

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS

1970	Charles W. Querfeld	Dept. of Physics	Clarkson College of Technology
1971	Edward McCafferty	Dept. of Chemistry	Lehigh University
1972	Donald E. Brooks	Dept. of Biochemistry	University of Oregon
1973	W. Henry Weinberg	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of California Berkeley
1974	Stephen L. Brenner	Dept. of Chemistry	Indiana University
1975	Michele Flicker	Dept. of Chemistry	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1976	Felix T. Hong	Dept. of Biophysics	Rockefeller University
1977	Hung Dah Shih	Dept. of Materials Science	SUNY, Stony Brook
1978	Frederick A. Putnam	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Carnegie-Mellon University
1979	Eduardo D. Glandt	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Pennsylvania
1980	Wilson Ho	Dept. of Physics	University of Pennsylvania
1981	Michel Deeba	Dept. of Chemistry	University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1982	Mark A. Barteau	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Stanford University
1983	David G. Welkie	Dept. of Materials Science	University of Wisconsin-Madison
1984	Jeffry Harwell	Dept. of Petroleum Engineering	University of Texas, Austin
1985	Syed Qutubbuddin	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Carnegie-Mellon University
1986	Manoj K. Chaudhury	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	SUNY, Buffalo
1987	Peter S. Kirlin	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Delaware
1988	James P. Ebel	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Carnegie Mellon University
1989	John M. Vohs	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Delaware
1990	Andrea K. Myers-Beaghton	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Princeton University
1990	Antonios G. Mikos	Dept. of Chemical Engineering Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Purdue University
1992	Andrew D. Johnson	Dept. of Chemistry	-
1992	Robert D. Tilton		Massachusetts Institute of Technology Stanford University
1993	Paul E. Laibinis	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	
		Dept. of Chemistry	Harvard University
1995	Vicki L. Colvin	Dept. of Chemistry	University of California Berkeley
1996	Frank M. Zimmerman	Dept. of Physics	Cornell University
1997	John Levins	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Pennsylvania
1998	Darrell Velegol	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Carnegie Mellon University
1999	Younan Xia	Dept. of Chemistry	Harvard University
2000	Yunfeng Lu	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of New Mexico
2001	Garth J. Simpson	Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry	University of Colorado
2002	Christopher D. Zangmeister	Dept. of Chemistry	University of Arizona
2003	Teri Wang Odom	Dept. of Chemistry	Harvard University
2004	James E. Smay	Dept. of Materials Science & Engr.	University of Illinois
2005	Christy L. Haynes	Dept. of Chemistry	Northwestern University
2006	Jwa-Min Nam	Dept. of Chemistry	Northwestern University
2007	Amanda J. Haes	Dept. of Chemistry	Northwestern University
2008	Ali Khademhosseini	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2009	Liangfang Zhang	Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engr.	University of Illinois
2010	Daeyeon Lee	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011	Matthew E. Helgeson	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Delaware
2012	Bo Wang	Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engr.	University of Illinois
2013	Rafal Klajn	Dept. of Chemical & Biological Engr.	Northwestern University
2014	Daniel Beltrán-Villegas	Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engr.	Johns Hopkins University
2015	Qian Chen	Dept. of Materials Science and Engr.	University of Illinois
2016	Michel Personick	Dept. of Chemistry	Northwestern University
2017	Chi-Jen Shih	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2018	Kaifeng Wu	Dept. of Chemistry	Emory University
2019	Rong Ye	Dept. of Chemistry	University of California, Berkeley
2020	Xiao Su	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2021	Rose Cersonsky	Dept. of Chemical Engineering	University of Michigan
2022	Rebecca Pinals	Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engr.	University of California, Berkeley
2023	Haichao Wu	Dept. of Chemical & Biological Engr.	University of Colorado, Boulder
		1	,

Division of Colloid & Surface Chemistry American Chemical Society 1155 Sixteenth Street NW Washington, DC 20036